BROWN-FOLSE PACS, LLC

Frequently asked questions

Administrator Answers:

 

bullet

What are my responsibilities as PACS Administrator?

bullet

How do I add users and doctors?

bullet

How do I UNLOCK a user?

bullet

What groups should be assigned to users?

bullet

Why doesn't a doctor show on the physician list?

bullet

What does the bubbles/buckets on Administrator's panel mean?

bullet

Do I delete USERS when they are no longer working at our facility?

 

horizontal rule

 

What are my responsibilities as PACS Administrator?

As your facility's PACS Administrator you will manage who has access and what level of access users will have.   When a user uses the wrong password (check caps lock) 3 times they will be locked out.  They will need to call you to remove the lock before they can log in.

You will be the first contact for users and determine if the issue is something you can handle or the Brown-Folse Administrator should be contacted or if it would be a BRIT Systems tech support issue.  New features given in upgrades should be passed on to users as well a training new users. 

Some of the things that should be checked on a regular basis:

  1. In the Administrator panel, check exams with "WARNING" status in the "bubbles" and determine why it is in that state.

  2. Make sure that all doctors are put in correctly with PHYSICIAN status so their name will appear on the listing when an order is made.  This includes adding new doctors even when they may only be there occasionally.  It is important that the doctor that ordered the exam be on the order.

  3. Set up physicians and locations to receive AUTOFAX through the server modem.

  4. Check the PROCEDURE list to be sure all the exams needed are there and all are entered correctly.  If you are integrated with the HIS (Hospital Information System) there may be bad information coming over to cause problems that need to be fixed in the HIS.

  5. Check the ROUTING queue to be sure all exams are going to the main Brown-Folse server.  If not retry them or delete them. 

  6. If your facility has AUTOFAXING you will need check for failed faxes by logging into your web page.  This is done by typing in your IP address in internet address bar.  Go to ACCESS SERVLETS > MANAGE MINIRIS SERVLETS > log in using the same user name and password as on the RIS.  Scroll down and look at the FAX MONITOR and check for failed faxes.  You can retry them or delete these if already taken care of.  Call the Brown-Folse Administrator for further training on this an other functions that can be done here

horizontal rule

How do I add users and doctors?

You will need to be logged in as Administrator. 

  1. On the Administrator's screen, the one with the bubbles, at the top find the USERS button. 

  2. Open USERS by clicking on that button and type the person's last name that you are working with in the USER NAME and hit enter (this step is needed to be sure that you are not making a duplicate). 

  3. If you do not find a match then you will select ADD

  4. Enter 1) an ID that they will use to log in (usually last name and first initial but it can be anything you'd like) 2) last name 3) first name 4) name suffix (FNP, MD, DO) 5) if you need the person to be able to log in (techs must but doctors may or may not) you will need to assign a PASSWORD by putting in a generic (like abc123) in PASSWORD and the same one in CONFIRM PASSWORD  6) description (tech, physician, office manager) and 7) user groups.

  5. SAVE your changes. 

    When the new user logs in for the first time they will be asked to change their password to one that no one knows. 

    Doctors must be given PHYSICIAN user group to make them show on the list of doctors when making an order.  If you are not sure what groups to put on a tech look at another tech that you want them to have the same privileges and duplicate those groups on the new user.

    If when you do the search the person you were adding is already there you need to check to be sure they have the correct groups.  You can also change their password here if needed.   

horizontal rule

How do I UNLOCK a user?

    You will need to be logged in as Administrator. 

  1. On the Administrator screen, the one with the bubbles, at the top find USERS and click on that button. 

  2. Type in the user's last name in the USER NAME to bring them up.

  3. Select the name of the user you are UNLOCKing and select EDIT. 

  4. At the bottom left in USER GROUP the word LOCKED will be there.  If it is not, they are not LOCKED.  If it is, click on it and select REMOVE.

  5. SAVE your changes. 

    If the reason the person got locked out is because they forgot their password, type in a generic one (abc123) in PASSWORD and CONFIRM PASSWORD fields at the top.  This will prompt them to enter a new one when they log in using this generic (abc123) password.

   

horizontal rule

What groups should be assigned to users?

     Doctors must be given PHYSICIAN user group to make them show on the list of doctors when making an order.  If you are not sure what groups to put on a tech look at another tech that you want them to have the same privileges and duplicate those groups on the new user.

    SAVE your changes. 

Why doesn't a doctor show on the physician list?

    Doctors must be given PHYSICIAN user group to make them show on the list of doctors when making an order.  You will need to go into USERS and find the physician, edit, and look in the USER GROUPS.  Be sure that the PHYSICIAN status is there.

    SAVE your changes. 

horizontal rule

What does the bubbles/buckets on Administrator's panel mean?

    The bubbles show the status of orders and exams that have been entered into the BRIT RIS (Radiology Information System).  To view the exams at a particular status, click on the number in the bucket/bubble that you want to review.

bullet

First status, top right, is SCHEDULED.  These are orders that have been put in but do not have studies yet.  The order has the status SCHEDULED.  This could be for today, this week or this month.
 

bullet

Second status, right, is ARRIVED.  When the patient is entered and will be having exams the order changes to ARRIVED, these could or may not have exams.  If an exam goes to WARNING the exam has been in there longer than acceptable.  Usually Mammograms stay in WARNING until they are read because it is several days after they were entered before they are read.
 

bullet

Third status, bottom, is VERIFIED.  These exams have been done and have been approved for reading by changing the status to VERIFIED. If an exam goes to WARNING the exam has been in there longer than acceptable.  Usually Mammograms stay in WARNING until they are read because it is several days after they were entered before they are read.
 

bullet

Fourth status, left, is READ.  When the Radiologist opens an exam to be dictated the status goes to READ.  This is to remove it from the VERIFIED status so that another Radiologist doesn't have it on their list to read.  If an exam goes to WARNING in this status then the exam was opened but not READ and needs to be set back to VERIFIED.
 

bullet

Fifth status, top left, is COMPLETE.  These exams have been read, reported and are finished.
 

bullet

At the bottom left there is a bucket/bubble called BROKEN or INCOMPLETE.  When the Radiologist has a problem with an exam, like no doctor (or a number for a doctor) or a history that is not pertinent to the exam ordered or no REASON FOR STUDY, they will set the exam to INCOMPLETE and it will show up here.  The order needs to be fixed and changed back to VERIFIED.  Also sometimes all the images don't go over (routing is slow or hung up) or the order doesn't not come across and they will also be marked INCOMPLETE.
 

bullet

At the bottom right there is the UNMATCHED bucket/bubble and this means that the exam and the order are not together.  This needs to be fixed/matched and the exam can be set to VERIFIED.

horizontal rule

 

Do I delete USERS when they are no longer working at our facility?

NO, never delete a user unless you just entered them and need to start over.  Once a user has made an order, etc then they have a record, or trail.  If they are deleted all work that they have done is untraceable, not acceptable for HIPAA.

What you DO is select the USER and EDIT.  Remove all permission groups and add LOCKED to the permission group side.   You can even go as far as assigning a weird password (ngnthdlgngy) so that is someone was to UNLOCK them, they still couldn't log in.

Save your changes.  They will not be able to log in.